Delmanor Northtown Reviews

5351 Yonge Street, North York, Ontario, M2N 7L5


   Email community


This is a first rate Toronto retirement home. Aside from the exceptional facilities, the care staff on hand is highly professional and sociable. Families of seniors who move here feel great relief at having found such well-rounded care.



First-rate senior living

As with other Delmanor communities, this is an exceptionally well-appointed, very modern retirement residence, with a hotel-like environment that includes a concierge, and suites with in-suite service. Suites are very spacious, friendly staff is easily at hand, and the dining is exceptional. Located just north of the 401 on Yonge Street, this is very close to a variety of local shopping including drug stores and coffee outlets.

If you are used to having the best things in life, then Delmanor communities like this one are the right place to get the seniors' care you need. Aside from excellent care staff, spectacular onsite amenities and features include concierge service, billiards, a full library, a bar, a spa and gym, an onsite movie theatre, and a private bus that shuttles residents on a variety of day trips.

  • Independent living

  •   $4,595 per month

  •   112 suites

What people say about Delmanor Northtown


Delmanor fit the bill, to a T. It was close, the appearance is wonderful, it's clean. My mom is happy and that was really the most important thing.
—Barb, family member

It was hard to leave [our home], but with [my husband's] health and his age, he couldn't do things around the house anymore. We finally took the doctor's advice [and moved here] ... Not having to cook meals gives me more time to do things with him.
—Marie Sellers, resident

I feel safe [with this choice]. We don't worry about [mom] here. It's a lot of peace of mind.
—Debbie, family member

Living here, I feel like part of the family.
—Emily, resident

My family member has been a very satisfied resident at Delmanor Northtown for over ten years. The staff have consistently been caring, helpful, and friendly. The supports provided are excellent, and the suite is comfortable and spacious. We are currently in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic, and the precautions taken by the staff meet or exceed Public Health guidelines, providing a safe environment for all residents and staff. My family is so grateful for all that has been done. Thank you to Ma
—Alemka Mahalec, family member

Read more

Google review by Alemka

My family member has been a very satisfied resident at Delmanor Northtown for over ten years. The staff have consistently been caring, helpful, and friendly. The supports provided are excellent, and the suite is comfortable and spacious. We are currently in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic, and the precautions taken by the staff meet or exceed Public Health guidelines, providing a safe environment for all residents and staff. My family is so grateful for all that has been done. Thank you to Matt Ross and the entire team. [posted to Google in 2020]
—Alemka Mahalec, family member

My father moved to Delmanor Northtown approximately 3 years ago after we researched and visited 9 other retirement residences and the Delmanor community has continued to live up to its reputation of being a friendly, active place to live. The activities and trips are wide and varied. The staff is friendly and happy and go out of their way to ensure everyone has what they need and encouraging everyone to get involved. This attitude is seen in every level. If you do require some additional medi
—Cheryl Tutton, family member

Read more

Google review by Cheryl

My father moved to Delmanor Northtown approximately 3 years ago after we researched and visited 9 other retirement residences and the Delmanor community has continued to live up to its reputation of being a friendly, active place to live. The activities and trips are wide and varied. The staff is friendly and happy and go out of their way to ensure everyone has what they need and encouraging everyone to get involved. This attitude is seen in every level.

If you do require some additional medical care, the nurses and staff are wonderful and if an emergency does occur, they respond extremely quickly. My Dad had a fall in the shower and he pushed his alert button and they were there within a minute, quickly assessed him for injuries and then stayed to ensure he was safe as he finished his shower, dressed and was safely in a comfortable chair before they left. They also checked on him throughout the day.

Now with COVID-19, Delmanor Northtown has really shone. Steps were quickly taken to ensure the health of the staff and residence. Although everyone is eating in their suites and all activities are cancelled, the staff is working tirelessly to make sure no one feels alone. They are delivering their meals promptly with no compromise in meal quality or variety. A weekly booklet is delivered full of fun facts, various activities and puzzles, exercises to do in their suites as well as mediation and journaling opportunities. The management is sending weekly letters to families to keep us updated on how things are going and making sure all the residents are informed promptly of how things are developing. They are doing whatever they can to reassure residents and families during this unprecedented time.

If you are looking for a retirement community, Delmanor Northtown should be at the top of your list. [posted to Google in 2020]
—Cheryl Tutton, family member

My parents moved into Delmanor Northtown over 8-9 years ago, my father is still there. I can't speak highly enough of this residence. The premises are beautifully appointed and maintained, and the food is very good. But, for me, the biggest and most important asset is the team of people working there. From the first interview visit with myself and my parents, they made us feel noticed and welcomed. They genuinely enjoy their residents, and are appropriately warm and affectionate with both reside
—Sue Gibbs, family member

Read more

Google review by Sue

My parents moved into Delmanor Northtown over 8-9 years ago, my father is still there. I can't speak highly enough of this residence. The premises are beautifully appointed and maintained, and the food is very good. But, for me, the biggest and most important asset is the team of people working there. From the first interview visit with myself and my parents, they made us feel noticed and welcomed. They genuinely enjoy their residents, and are appropriately warm and affectionate with both residents and families. There have been very few changes in the staff over the 8-9 years which offers important stability for older people. We've had occasion to utilize the onsite nursing staff on a regular basis and their empathy and commitment cannot be overstated. The communication from management is regular, friendly, prompt and on point. I'd be happy to offer a personal recommendation to anyone who is interested in this residence. [posted to Google in 2020]
—Sue Gibbs, family member

Safe, clean environment. Exceptionally friendly and supportive staff. Wonderful activities on site and off. I'm so glad my mother chose Delmanor at Northtown! [posted to Google in 2020]
—Joy Morassutti, family member

We cannot thank the staff enough at Delmanor Northtown for what they do every day for their residents. The moment we stepped foot into Delmanor last year to take a tour, we knew it was "the" place for our parents. Navigating through this pandemic has been a challenge, but the staff go above and beyond to make sure the residents are their top priority in everything they do. Honestly, it is such a relief to know that our parents couldn't be in a better place! [posted to Google, 2020]
—Silvana Azzolini, family member

Delmanor Northtown has been an amazing experience for my mother. The staff is wonderful, caring and attentive. She's made many new friends, and the activities are first rate. Too bad there are only 5 stars to award in this review! [posted to Google in 2020]
—Jan Simms, family member

I cannot praise the management and staff at Delmanor Northtown enough for the exceptional care they have taken of my mother and of all the residents. The staff is dedicated, positive and engaging. Never has this been more important than over the past 4 months during the pandemic. Staff have gone above and beyond to ensure that my mom was well cared-for, was able to see her family via FaceTime by helping her with an iPad, was engaged in activities to the extent it was possible and, most of all, w
—Josie Erzetic, family member

Read more

Google review by Josie

I cannot praise the management and staff at Delmanor Northtown enough for the exceptional care they have taken of my mother and of all the residents. The staff is dedicated, positive and engaging. Never has this been more important than over the past 4 months during the pandemic. Staff have gone above and beyond to ensure that my mom was well cared-for, was able to see her family via FaceTime by helping her with an iPad, was engaged in activities to the extent it was possible and, most of all, was safe. At every step of the COVID19 crisis, Delmanor was responding quickly and with the utmost care, including by ensuring adequate PPE as well as appropriate health and safety protocols. Delmanor Northtown, from the bottom of my heart, thank you for taking such good care of my mom, all the residents and employees! [posted to Google in 2020]
—Josie Erzetic, family member

It has been four weeks since my mom of 94 years has been welcomed into your community. Within two days, she said this felt like home to her. This, from a lady who never wanted to leave her home. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. There is a family feeling here that we didn't experience anywhere else. The suites are beautiful, as are the common areas of the building. My mother is really quite picky with food but loves it here. Even with the Covid situation, the staff has adapted and kept the
—Janice B., family member

Read more

Thank you to all the Delmanor Northtown staff!

It has been four weeks since my mom of 94 years has been welcomed into your community. Within two days, she said this felt like home to her. This, from a lady who never wanted to leave her home. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. There is a family feeling here that we didn't experience anywhere else. The suites are beautiful, as are the common areas of the building. My mother is really quite picky with food but loves it here. Even with the Covid situation, the staff has adapted and kept the atmosphere very upbeat, doing sing songs in the hallways, surprise snack packages to rooms, just to mention a few. The recreation is being brought back into the daily routine slowly and cautiously with small groups and social distancing, always with the residents well being in mind.

I feel my mom is in good and safe hands, and, most importantly, SHE feels safe and in good hands, too. [posted to Google in 2020]
—Janice B., family member

Christie (Chapin) was so very helpful when we were considering Del Manor for my ninety three year old mother. She answered my questions promptly and accurately. She was also very concerned for my mother’s well being and provided names of services to help her at home while we waited to get her in. Thank you Christie for all your help. [posted to Google in 2020]
—Elizabeth Wells, family member

Delmanor was my mom’s Home for the last nine years of her life. It was the next best thing to living in a neighbourhood with lifelong friends. The kindness, consideration and care that was provided during her final years, were nothing but exceptional. The Delmanor community, residents and staff, provided an enriched space where friends were made and interests explored and shared. The thing I appreciated most was that my mom felt valued, appreciated and loved at Delmanor. What more can one ask
—Diane Fair, family member

Read more

Google review by Diane

Delmanor was my mom’s Home for the last nine years of her life. It was the next best thing to living in a neighbourhood with lifelong friends. The kindness, consideration and care that was provided during her final years, were nothing but exceptional. The Delmanor community, residents and staff, provided an enriched space where friends were made and interests explored and shared. The thing I appreciated most was that my mom felt valued, appreciated and loved at Delmanor. What more can one ask for?
—Diane Fair, family member

[Delmanor Northtown] is really a home, with staff that works as a team to make sure my every need is looked after promptly and with good cheer. [It] has all the comforts and conveniences I could possibly hope for with a beautiful, graceful, dining room that offers delicious meals served by a pleasant and willing wait team. I particularly enjoy and use its wonderfully equipped gym with staff ready to work with you. I am impressed by the variety of courses offered-I particularly enjoy the session
—Betty Rae Abramsky, resident

Read more

Lucky to be a part! Google review by Betty Rae

[Delmanor Northtown] is really a home, with staff that works as a team to make sure my every need is looked after promptly and with good cheer. [It] has all the comforts and conveniences I could possibly hope for with a beautiful, graceful, dining room that offers delicious meals served by a pleasant and willing wait team.
I particularly enjoy and use its wonderfully equipped gym with staff ready to work with you. I am impressed by the variety of courses offered-I particularly enjoy the sessions on current affairs, the Ted Talks, the book review club where we bring and discuss our favourite books. The movies shown daily are carefully chosen to entertain and inform. A real bonus for me has been to make friends with, what I consider, an outstanding group of residents. I am so lucky to be part of the whole Delmanor Northtown experience. [posted to Google November 2020]
—Betty Rae Abramsky, resident

My daughter and I went for tours and lunches at at least 5 residences in Toronto from Lake Ontario to City Limits. When I entered Northtown I knew this was the right place for me to live. The staff is A1 and sincerely care and watch over us. Matt Ross, general manager, does a superb job as choosing and hiring the best. I have been here since March 2020 and now Pandemic, and this is the best place for me. I am truly happy with how well I am doing here at Delmanor Northtown. I look forward to many
—Shaeri, resident

Read more

Looking forward to life here!

My daughter and I went for tours and lunches at at least 5 residences in Toronto from Lake Ontario to City Limits. When I entered Northtown I knew this was the right place for me to live. The staff is A1 and sincerely care and watch over us. Matt Ross, general manager, does a superb job as choosing and hiring the best. I have been here since March 2020 and now Pandemic, and this is the best place for me. I am truly happy with how well I am doing here at Delmanor Northtown. I look forward to many more happy and healthy times here. [posted to Google December 2020]
—Shaeri, resident

A beautiful building in a great location, a wide variety of activities, wonderful food- all of these things attracted my mom to Delmanor Northtown. However, after moving in she discovered the most important thing about her new home- the amazing, kind, caring, compassionate staff. Almost 7 years after she died, Matt the manager emailed me to say they came across her smiling face recently while looking at photos, and still speak of her. He said she left an impression on them, but they should know
—Marybeth Convery, family member

Read more

Google review by Marybeth

A beautiful building in a great location, a wide variety of activities, wonderful food- all of these things attracted my mom to Delmanor Northtown. However, after moving in she discovered the most important thing about her new home- the amazing, kind, caring, compassionate staff. Almost 7 years after she died, Matt the manager emailed me to say they came across her smiling face recently while looking at photos, and still speak of her. He said she left an impression on them, but they should know of the impression her Northtown family left on us. There are lots of things to look for in a retirement home, but the special people working at Northtown truly made a difference in the last years of mom's life. It says a lot that many of the same team are still there. [posted to Google April 2021]
—Marybeth Convery, family member

There aren't the words to properly celebrate, appreciate and be forever grateful for the all-round amazing Delmanor Northtown. Taking good care of our beloved 100 year old father, father-in-law and grandfather means you-all are also taking care of Sam's family. Peace of mind on so many fronts - including going above and beyond: like helping arrange a COVID wedding so that Sam could attend his grand-daughter's ceremony. And ensuring his 100th was a super special event. Being at the end of the pho
—Kathy Kastner, family member

Read more

Thanks from all of us. We couldn't do it without you.

There aren't the words to properly celebrate, appreciate and be forever grateful for the all-round amazing Delmanor Northtown. Taking good care of our beloved 100 year old father, father-in-law and grandfather means you-all are also taking care of Sam's family. Peace of mind on so many fronts - including going above and beyond: like helping arrange a COVID wedding so that Sam could attend his grand-daughter's ceremony. And ensuring his 100th was a super special event. Being at the end of the phone day and night. And always treating Sam (and I'm sure every other resident) as a cherished member of the 'family.' [posted to Google August 2021]
—Kathy Kastner, family member

Our mother has been a Delmanor Northtown resident for ten years and is now in her late 90s. We appreciate the evolving care she has received during this time to accommodate age related health challenges... We have been consistently appreciative of the outstanding covid safety protocols that the staff have undertaken, keeping all residents safe. [posted to Google in August 2021]
—Sandy McDermott, family member

More about this community

  • Delmanor's LivingWell program is focused on seniors' health practices, offering individualized coaching and goal setting that develops overall well-being while minimizing the risk of falls and the effects of adult-onset diabetes and other health risks.
  • This was the first retirement community to receive the LEED award in recognition of its focus on low negative environmental impact, while at the same time, raising the standard of comfort of its residents.
  • Exceptional dining here is proffered by the renowned Red Seal Chefs.
advertisement





ComfortLife.ca

Request information: Delmanor Northtown

All fields are required.

 Schedule a visit or tour  Information  Send a brochure

I am looking for:  

Contact me by:
 Email
 Mail
 Phone
Message the residence (optional)

Comfort Life is a division of Our Kids Media™ ©2002-2021   •   Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the retirement care advertisers and is not warranted or guaranteecd by ComfortLife.ca or its associated websites.  •   See Terms and Conditions.

The Comfort Life eNewsletter

Sign up today to receive tips and advice on retirement living, retirement communities, home care and other services.

First Name:
Email:
Postal Code