THE COMFORT LIFE REPORT:

THE ROXBOROUGH RETIREMENT
Newmarket, Ontario

Retirement community

Request information: The Roxborough Retirement Residence - Verve Senior Living


All fields are required.

 Schedule a visit or tour
 Suite details
 More info

I am looking for:  

Contact me by:
 Email / Phone
 Mail
Special request/message for the residence

ComfortLife.ca

Reviews of The Roxborough Retirement Residence - Verve Senior Living

Gain exclusive insight into life at The Roxborough Retirement Residence - Verve Senior Living. Comfort Life’s exclusive reviews and videos give you insider information from residents and their families.

Our perspective

Seniors and family members agree that the Roxborough renews people's enjoyment of life. That begins with the reinvigoration of moving into a clean, still-new place—but that’s deepened by the day-to-day environment here. It's a revelation to people how great life can be in a place where they’re surrounded by fellow seniors and service-minded staff.

A highlight of life here is the rich social life you can participate in every day. There are musical offerings in the parlour, delicious spreads of chef-prepared food, and activities like strawberry socials. Some of the residents' favourite activities include cocktail hour, the gardening club and religious services in house. In the dining room, there's an opportunity to eat with a variety of other residents and deepen friendships every day. This works together to create the vibrant social life you’ll see on display here. Throughout the community you'll find residents engaged in casual, happy conversation. It's obvious, then, that this feels very much like home to them.

Video interviews

We interviewed families and/or residents via video conference, asking them probing questions about life at The Roxborough Retirement Residence - Verve Senior Living. Get the behind-the-scenes information from those with direct experience.

Silvia Perkins, daughter of resident

Watch our interview with Silvia Perkins to learn about the unique experience offered by The Roxborough Retirement Residence.

all_videos

More of what people say about this community

We've collected reviews and testimonials from around the web that are relevant to you: those from residents and their loved ones.

Marion Roberts, senior

I was very fortunate to have such a positive experience during my rehab at The Roxborough in April of this year. It is spear headed by Melanie. Melanie was in contact with me from setting the initial meeting to explain what was offered and allowed me to put my possessions in early to accommodate my surgery schedule. The staff on a whole were also very polite as was my case with the night attendants. Bringing more ice at night and adding a couple of cookies to tide me over. I would highly recommend The Roxborough for anyone's recuperation.


Barrett Greenhow, resident

My wife Joyce and I moved into the Roxy in August and couldn't be more satisfied. Where does one start ? The staff are without exception - Fabulous ! The food is 5 star all the way as at each meal you always get options; is always the freshest imaginable; always served on linen table cloths; is changed after each person is finished dining and includes the nicest wait staff possible. Add to this, you can dine on your schedule ( with -in certain hours ) and choose to sit with new friends each meal OR sit at the same table with the same friends. Your choice.

What could be better ?


Mariam, senior

I highly recommend the Roxborough for anyone considering retirement options for themselves or their loved ones. Dianne at the front desk is so friendly and always ready to help. Carrie, their Health & Wellness Manager goes above and beyond to coordinate services and reassess care plans as needs evolve. The building itself is well-maintained, cozy and chic. They offer a wide range of activities and events to keep residents actively engaged in the community. Safety features across the building provide peace of mind, allowing residents to live as independently as possible. My favourite feature was their large beautiful terrace. It has lots of space to walk around and raised garden beds for those who aren't ready to give up their backyards just yet.


Arthur, family member

When we were searching for a retirement residence for Willy, my mother-in-law, The Roxborough wasn't even on our radar. But by chance we took a tour of this Newmarket residence, right across the street from Southlake Hospital, and were immediately impressed by its cozy atmosphere, the warmth and kindness of its staff, and most importantly, the smiles we saw among many of The Roxborough's residents. This was an encouraging sign. Since then, after moving Willy into a suite facing a beautiful courtyard, we've been incredibly heartened by the care Willy has received in her new home. As a 97 year old, recently widowed lady who had been a social butterfly throughout her life, Willy has found a new community supported by caring professionals who seem to have made it their mission to bring comfort and security to its residents in their golden years.


Suzanne Glover, family member

During a very difficult time , all of the staff at Roxborough - especially Krista, made the transition so much easier. They went above and beyond to ensure an easy move. Since arrival, They are always there to help and offer assistance. All while having the most welcoming and pleasant manner. Couldn't have made a better choice for my mom.


Cheryl Teasdale, family member

I just can't say enough about how great the Roxborough Retirement Residence truly is. My Dad, who is 96, has called the Roxborough home for 10 years and there is no other place that I could envisage that could ever be better. The staff are amazing - management, office staff, maintenance, housekeeping, dining staff - all are so friendly and hard working, all with fantastic memories, it seems, as they not only know all the residents by name but also the visitors! Nothing is ever too much trouble for them. The building itself is immaculately maintained, has the most beautiful courtyard with gorgeous gardens and walkways, utilizes geothermal to help our planet, and even has underground parking, not only for the residents but for visitors as well. During Covid the measures the Roxborough put in place were exemplary, keeping residents and staff safe and secure. Knowing that there is no where safer for my Dad is such a relief. The Roxborough also excels at keeping their residents entertained. There is a full roster of activities including outings to venues off site. The staff go out of their way to make sure all participants have great fun. They also bring in outside entertainers, even during Covid when the performances were allowed to be held out in the courtyard!


Anne Page, family member

The Roxborough has been home to my parents for the past 10 years. Never has it been clearer to me the care and attention they receive from everyone at the Roxborough than over the past pandemic year. The residence's extensive and careful measures have kept my parents safe and well. All the while, the staff and management have consistently taken extra steps to ensure my parents' daily needs are met. Under normal circumstances, not only has the Roxborough felt like home to them, but also to me, my brothers and our families. We have always been welcomed and accommodated. I feel strongly that residing at the Roxborough has added quality years to my parents' life and provided them the security, comfort and luxury they deserve.
[May 2021]


Nancy Black, family member

I want to thank the management and staff at the Roxborough for making my mother feel like she is part of a larger family. The fun costume parties and other planned events are reflective of the energy and positivity that each and every staff member from dining room to management put forth. The Roxborough has been second to none in maintaining the safety of it's residents during Covid, it has given us great peace of mind that our mother is happy and safe!

[Apr 2021]


Judy Smith, family member

Just over 9 years ago the Roxborough joined our family when my in-laws moved in. The staff helped them celebrate their 60 wedding anniversary, walked with mum along the journey of both her husband and son passing on and helped her celebrate the birth of a great grandson.
The staff are truly members of the family. From their friendly smiles when we walk in, to asking how she enjoyed her Sunday dinners out.
I can't say enough on how they have kept her safe during Covid and informed as to the reasons behind all safety precautions.
They truly care. There is no where else she wants to be or we want her to be.
[Apr 2021]


Cathy White, family member

Our mother has thoroughly enjoyed herself from the moment that she moved into the Roxborough. She felt at “home “ very quickly thanks to the staff and the surroundings. The staff are very friendly, outgoing and are very obliging in helping out the residents with their needs. They seem to enjoy being part of all the special occasions and events that are planned by dressing up in creative costumes for these occasions. It truly brings a smile to the resident’s faces. The decor in the common gathering areas is warm and inviting. The outdoor gardens are beautiful with flowers, and well taken care of with some of the residents pitching in to help occasionally.

The food is very delicious she says and there is a great variety to choose from. The kitchen staff and servers are great about the dietary needs and allergies of the residents and will do special requests if needed for the residents. Mom has enjoyed lots of the activities that the Roxborough had to offer before the pandemic and can hardly wait for them to start up again. There is everything from exercise classes, games, crafts puzzles, cooking/baking, movies and gardening to participate in. She enjoys the guest performances and the movies that are shown. Our mother has made many new friends who are residents at the Roxborough and we are very glad about that.

During the pandemic, the Roxborough has kept everyone informed about their protocols and procedures through emails to the families and give the residents written updates to keep them safe. They have done a fabulous job in that regard and we thank you for your great efforts! During the pandemic, they have continued to work with residents and have provided various activities for them to partake if they wish in their rooms as well as special ‘goodies’ brought to their rooms that they can enjoy despite being in lock down It is wonderful to know that our mother is in a caring and safe environment thanks to the amazing staff.
[Feb 2021]


Sylvia Perkins, family member

My dad was one of the first residents to move into The Roxborough Retirement Residence. And since that day over 11 years ago, he has been very happy, and that makes me, his daughter, thrilled! When your elderly parent moves from their home into a different, new environment, you want the transition to be as stress free as possible for them. And I can guarantee that the wonderful and kind staff at the Roxborough did just that! My dad began to feel at “home” very quickly because of the genuine care that he felt from the staff. And that care has never diminished, but only grown over the years!

My dad has a wide variety of activities to choose from each and every day. Depending on what your loved one enjoys, they are sure to find something to keep them active and involved, from games, puzzles, crafts, movies, exercise and gardening, just to name just a few. Also, guest performers are invited to provide wonderful entertainment for all to enjoy! Prior to the pandemic, my now 99 year ‘young’ dad was rarely ever in his room! And we all know how important social interactions are, especially for seniors, to keep their minds and bodies healthy.

My dad also enjoys the variety of tasty meals offered. The kitchen staff make every effort to accommodate their residents, knowing their likes and dislikes, and of course any allergies. We as a family have thoroughly enjoyed many delicious monthly Sunday brunches over the years! And we look forward to them again, hopefully in the not too distant future!

With regard to safety, especially since the Covid-19 pandemic, The Roxborough is second to none. The staff have done, and continue to do, everything possible to keep their residents safe. And they have certainly succeeded in doing that. Family members have regularly been kept informed, which is greatly appreciated. I am so thankful knowing that my dad is in such a safe and caring environment!

Whenever I enter The Roxborough, I am always greeted with a warm and welcoming smile. So many staff members have worked there for years, and as my dad says, “They truly feel like family and treat me like family!” the staff have a very caring nature. I have not met an employee that does not have a smile on their face towards the residents and all guests and visitors. It's the caring, kind, respectful, friendly family nature. And that comes through.

And if people are feeling that they are cared about and that they're valued, that gives them a purpose. It gives them a reason. They feel like I count. Nobody wants to feel undervalued, and every one of them feel that way all the time. Dad says, 'I just don't know how I got so lucky.' What more could anyone ask for!


Jamie Evans, family member

The staff are amazing and just like family. With the pandemic everyone that works here and takes care of the residents go above and beyond. They all are wonderful, I do not worry about my mother because she is so cared for and is in good hands here. On her birthday all the managers went up and sang Happy Birthday to her and did a little jig, my mother loved it. The food is excellent. I can't say enough about how much we love that our mother is living at the Roxborough.


Samantha W., family member

[Very grateful to] The Roxborough Retirement Residence ... where my grandparents live. Throughout this entire pandemic, the staff and management have been nothing short of amazing. They keep both the residents and their families in the loop about everything. They treat our family like it's theirs.

We received word [recently, June 2020], after testing every resident and staff member at The Roxborough, not a single person affiliated with the home has tested positive for CoViD-19. None. Nada. Zero.

This result speaks to nothing other than the exceptional level of care and dedication provided by the staff. This has been a scary time for anyone who has elderly relatives, whether in a home of some sort or who still lives independently. The Roxborough staff have made it incredibly easy to continue with our day to day lives and not have an ounce of worry about our loved ones.


Debbie Fitzsimmons, family member

I can’t say enough about everything they have done for [my mom]. Kind, compassionate, caring are just a few words that come to mind. She’s thriving, moving more, happier and healthier.


Denise Saunders, family member

[My Dad] loves it there and has nothing but great things to say about the staff. Everyone is extremely friendly and he prides himself on knowing the names of most of the staff, especially the servers in the dining room who are wonderful with all of the residents. He looks forward to having lunch and dinner with his friends each day. It's a wonderful community in a great location.


Robert M, family member

Mom loves it at this excellent retirement home. At 91 she and her little dog, Mia, feel safe and secure. The staff are caring and attentive. The services are excellent, the food is so good she's gained weight. The environment is well maintained and she is close to all kinds of support and medical services. Her children are happy to know she is in good hands.


Name withheld for privacy's sake, resident

I would like to express a warm and appreciative Thank you to all who are employed by The Roxborough. Whoever has assisted directly with my needs or anyone behind the scenes. I realize it's a team effort. You all come together very efficiently with compassion and empathy towards, not only myself, but from what I have observed, to all of us. It was very difficult for me to make the quick and drastic transition from living in my home independently to being in a retirement home setting. I would like to mention that you all have helped in making me feel welcomed. With your warm smiles, kind tone and mild mannered way you have given me direction when I needed it. I realize it's not an easy task, but all of you do it so well. Please don't stop.


Ted & Leslie Cloake, resident

When my wife Leslie and I decided it was time to move to a retirement residence we visited several in the area. With regards to the accommodations they offered we found very little difference. However as soon as we entered the Roxborough we found a warm and welcoming atmosphere. We moved in a little over a year ago and that first impression has been confirmed over and over causing us to have no regrets about our decision to choose the Roxborough.


Barb, family member

Wonderful place with excellent staff ... My parents have been here since 2014 and they thoroughly enjoy it here.


Name withheld for privacy's sake, family member

Everything has been great since we moved mom here. The food is excellent! Staff are very helpful, and the facilities are always in great shape. My mom's apartment is very roomy and comfortable. We are all very happy with the Roxborough.


Back to: full report


THE COMFORT LIFE REPORT:
THE ROXBOROUGH RETIREMENT RESIDENCE - VERVE SENIOR LIVING

Next steps in your research:

Add to shortlist









Comfort Life is a division of Our Kids Media™ ©2002-2021   •   Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the retirement care advertisers and is not warranted or guaranteecd by ComfortLife.ca or its associated websites.  •   See Terms and Conditions.

The Comfort Life eNewsletter

Sign up today to receive tips and advice on retirement living, retirement communities, home care and other services.

First Name:
Email:
Postal Code


Comfort Life

*Bonus: sign up and immediately receive a free digital edition of Comfort Life Retirement Living Guide

100 pages, featuring the top retirement communities and care with expert advice on choosing, financing and making the move.